Jefferson County, Arkansas

Recycling Department

Jefferson County Recycling is dedicated to collecting, sorting, processing, and selling recyclable waste materials for the citizens of Jefferson County, Arkansas. The revenues generated from the sale of the materials are put back into the program allowing us to increase and enhance the levels of service we provide.  We have year-round programs to promote and educate the public about recycling and the services currently available through the county.

The largest operation of the Recycling Department is the tire disposal program that serves the Southeast Arkansas Solid Waste Management District consisting of ten counties: Arkansas, Ashley, Bradley, Chicot, Cleveland, Drew, Desha, Grant, Jefferson, and Lincoln.  All waste tires collected in this region are sent to the tire facility on Gravel Pit Road for processing.  The Department takes advantage of all opportunities to create and sell Tire Derived Fuel to plants that use it to run boilers.  The rims and wire pulled from tires are sent to metal recyclers.

A large baling machine is also located at the tire shredding facility.  This compacts paper, cardboard, and plastic into large bales for sale in the recyclable materials market.  As the recycling department has been growing the revenues from this activity have grown tremendously.

In September 2013, Jefferson County Judge Dutch King began operating a new recycling facility located at 1800 East Harding behind Pope Furniture after combining operations with the City of Pine Bluff.  It is a full-service drive through building that also serves as an Electronic Waste (E-Waste) Collection hub for the four surrounding counties: Arkansas, Cleveland, Grant, and Lincoln.  There is still a self-service drop-off location at the Jefferson County Road Department.

The Recycling Department has created an additional revenue stream for the Sheriff's Office by utilizing the Clean Team to assist in the collection and processing of recyclable materials.  Their cooperation and the cooperation of all county and city offices is critical to the expansion of our program and substantially increasing revenues.

Our vision in to divert as much material from landfills as possible.  In the immediate future, we will be adding a large paper shredder to our main facility.  It will be available for public use at no charge.  Our goal is to open at least three new collection sites across the county within 3 years.  We wish to expand our partnership with the other nine counties that comprise the SEASWMD into a single, concerted recycling effort.

The main recycling facility is located at 1800 East Harding directly behind Pope Furniture.  The hours of operation are Monday - Friday, 8:00 am - 4:00 pm and on Saturdays, 8:00 am - 2:00 pm.  There is a self-service dop-off location at the Jefferson County Road Department at 3304 W. 7th Ave.